Spanish musician and composer Alejandro Sanz was born in 1968 in Madrid. Sanz spent his formative years in the Moratalaz neighborhood, where he learned to sing and play the guitar at the age of seven. By the time he was barely a teenager, he was playing constantly, driving his mother to occasional frustration as her son kept the family up with his music nearly all night.

After signing with the Spanish label Hispavox, Alejandro released his debut album, Los Chulos Son Pa’ Ciudarlos. The album did not garner Sanz the commercial or critical success he was seeking, but he continued to play and send his demos to record companies, eventually sparking the interest of Warner Music Latina. Under the Warner label, Alejandro released Viviendo Deprisa in 1991, and this time the album was a hit. On the strength of the singles “Se le Apago la Luz” and “Pisando Fuerte,” the album became a number two Spanish hit, rising to multi-platinum status and setting the stage for the additional number one albums: 3 (1995), Mas (1997), El Alma al Aire (2000), No El lo Mismo (2003), El Tren de los Momentos (2006), Paraiso Express (2009), La Musica No Se Toca (2012), and Sirope (2015), in addition to a dozen live and compilation albums.

Notable additional singles by Alejandro Sanz include the number one Spanish hits: “Si Tu Me Miras,” “La Fuerza del Corazon,” “Mi Soledad y Yo,” “Corazon Partio,” “Amiga Mia,” “Cuando Nadie Me Ve,” “Quisiera Ser,” “No Es lo Mismo,” “No Me Compares.” The international hits “Te Lo Agradezco, Pero No” (featuring Shakira) and “Looking for Paradise” (featuring Alicia Keys) have also helped Sanz to catapult to international stardom, earning three Grammy Awards and seventeen Latin Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year. Alejandro Sanz’s most recent release is the number one 2019 album, El Disco, featuring the singles “Back in the City” (with Nicky Jam) and “Mi Persona Favorita” (with Camila Cabello.)

Join our newsletter list and get first-hand information about celebrities and iBook.
Subscription Form
Copyright © 2000 – 2024 All Rights Reserved